Cybernetic Serendipity; London, 1968.

«Cybernetic Serendipity,» and presented at the ICA in London in 1968. It was the first exhibition to attempt to demonstrate all aspects of computer-aided creative activity: art, music, poetry, dance, sculpture, animation. The principal idea was to examine the role of cybernetics in contemporary arts. The exhibition included robots, poetry, music and painting machines, as well as all sorts of works where chance was an important ingredient. It was an intellectual exercise that became a spectacular exhibition in the summer of 1968. Jasia Reichardt London 2005.

bild.jpg

Cybernetic Serendipity; ICA, London, 1968.

http://www.medienkunstnetz.de/exhibitions/serendipity/

9 Responses to Cybernetic Serendipity; London, 1968.

  1. David Chambers says:

    I remember this well. I was 18 at the time. A magical experience for me – along with exhibitons of holography – a very exiting time!
    David

  2. Rosemary Forrest says:

    My husband, A. Robin Forrest (Cambridge University), may have produced the digital graphic for the poster for this conference. I am seeking confirmation that this is the poster with which he was involved. If it is I am wondering whether it is still possible to purchase a good copy of it?

  3. Richard E says:

    I also recall this exhibition fondly. I was 17 and it’s stayed with me all this time. I remember a device hanging from the ceiling that moved to follow you; two screens rendering moving coloured bars driven by an instrumental remix of “Day In The Life”… Brilliant, exciting, game-changing exhibition. Interestingly, David Chambers, I went on to create holograms too!

  4. mikey ellis says:

    I still have a copy of the album released with the exhibition.

  5. car says:

    Thankfulness to my father who informed me on the topic of this website, this web site is genuinely awesome.

    car

  6. Tegan says:

    I am extremely impressed with your writing skills as well as with the layout on your blog.
    Is this a paid theme or did you modify it yourself? Anyway
    keep up the excellent quality writing, it’s rare to see a great blog like this one these days.

  7. Bill Marvel says:

    I saw this exhibit in Washington, D.C., but it was during a week of hurried museum-going.Does anybody remember where it was on display?

  8. Ken Huchings says:

    According to this link, it was at the Corcoran Gallery of Art when in Washington, DC.

    http://dada.compart-bremen.de/item/exhibition/3

  9. espetinho de frango com bacon e queijo

    Cybernetic Serendipity; London, 1968. | Autonomous Mutations

Leave a comment